Goodbye to Buster

We did. He’s at rest. We’re sad. We miss him!

 

If it should be that I grow weak
And pain should keep me from my sleep,
Then you must do what must be done,
For this last battle cannot be won.

You will be sad, I understand.
Don’t let your grief then stay your hand.
For this day, more than all the rest,
Your love for me must stand the test.

We’ve had so many happy years.
What is to come can hold no fears.
You’d not want me to suffer so;
The time has come — please let me go.

Take me where my need they’ll tend,
And please stay with me till the end.
Hold me firm and speak to me,
Until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time that you will see
The kindness that you did for me.
Although my tail its last has waved,
From pain and suffering I’ve been saved.

Please do not grieve — it must be you
Who had this painful thing to do.
We’ve been so close, we two, these years;
Don’t let your heart hold back its tears.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear your loss! Buster was a wonderful doggie to your family, I can tell. Dogs become part of the family and act as your child. This is a beautiful poem. My boyfriend and I recently lost Otis in March. I understand how you feel. It will only get better each day…xoxo

    Reply

  2. You will miss him madly and for months to come you’ll still hear him and see him pattering about the house because he was so part of the family. What a character, what a lovely life he had, good ol’ lad. love to you and Jo at this sad time. Xxxxxxxxx

    Reply

    • Thanks Becks,
      Yes we will miss him, but it was the right time.
      He’s back in our thoughts as he once was – just very naughty. We once caught him standing in the middle of the dining table eating out evening meal! to say nothing about him chasing the birds out of his space in his garden.
      Absolutely full of character.
      Amanda

      Reply

I welcome any and all comment, words are the beginning of conversation.

