The government of women!

well! shaming women into having their babies when they’re, I don’t know, aged 20-24 or something? It’s all about this: Get Britain Fertile. I wish I was kidding. Get Britain Fertile looks like it’s all sponsored by First Response (just in case you thought there wasn’t going to be a corporate angle) and it launches on the 3rd June. One of the ambassadors of the campaign (Kate Garraway) says: “I know careers and finances seem important but you only have a small fertility window. Get prepared first and make informed choices early”. Well said, Kate. She’s forgotten to mention, of course, that there will be no one to help you out with said finances when you can’t afford to feed the child you had to have in that fertility window. But that’s all under the carpet for now. (And, besides, it only applies to them, you know, them there lower class women who don’t count.) Let’s not even start on the pseudo-science upon which this campaign is based. There is no fertility panic. There is no population panic!

What there is, it seems, is a renewed attempt to get women back into the home to free up the workplace for men. Cameron et al have been pushing this for a while (see also the raft of austerity measures which have affected the employment of women to a much larger extent than men). This must be the next step.

reblogged from :  femineach.com

6 responses to this post.

  1. You would think, with as many people on the planet fighting for resources as there are and with as many children who don’t have anyone, that they wouldn’t need to be crying “make babies, we need more babies!”. I decided a long time ago that I did not want biological children. When and if I decide to raise a child, I’d rather adopt. I don’t know what the laws are in the UK, but here in the US, it’s next to impossible to get voluntarily sterilized as a woman if you don’t already have at least 2 children. I’ve tried. All I ever hear is “you’ll change your mind”, “you’ll regret it”, “it’s different when it’s *your* baby”, and, my personal favorite, “What if your boyfriend/ husband wants one?”

    Ugh…

    Reply

    • I totally understand, I choose not have my own biological child but to raise with my partner. Vilification of those who are different happens all around the world.

      Reply

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one appalled by this! I was spitting feathers by the time I’d listened to Kate Garraway lecturing women on Woman’s Hour on radio 4 to “have children early”, completely missing the irony of herself being a woman who has just given birth in her 40s. Yes, if having children is important to you, don’t miss your chance. But do it when you’re ready, when you want to, when is right for you. Don’t be fooled by politicians and “media personalities” with hidden agendas.

    Reply

  3. Simply appalling. We, the female sex, must be particularly stupid these days that we need advice like this.

    Reply

    • Seems to me it’s just am extension of the patriarchal arm. I wonder if we could resurrect the suffragettes?

      Reply

      • Have they considered that the country might come to a complete halt if those blinded ‘career’ women stepped back from from their careers and let the superior race take full charge?

        Reply

I welcome any and all comment, words are the beginning of conversation.

