Chinese Food!

Does anyone know if Chinese food impacts on M.E sufferers?
I recently had a takeaway and felt off all night, resulting in more than usual sleeplessness?
All help appreciated.

9 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t think the medical people knew enough to say anything, but, I’ve been really bad after having a really meat pizza and a nearly all meat takeaway, so maybe. Try a different takeaway place to see.

    Reply

  2. Depends on how much monosodium glutomate was in the Chinese food (notorious for adding a LOT) and whether you have tolerance to it. I get head-aches and a raging thirst. Not pleasant.

    Reply

  3. I Haven’t Been able To Eat Chinese Food For Years. I Thought It Was The MSG, But Who Knows? I Miss It!

    Reply

  4. The MSG perhaps? Maybe the salt content could also be a culprit?

    Reply

  5. I have no idea, but I know that the MSG is bad for everyone – do you know if there was any in your food? I know here we can ask for the fod to be prepared without it, and I try to remember to do so.

    Reply

  6. I’ve read that monosodium glutamate (MSG) – a food additive common in Chinese food can cause many side effects including drowsiness. Here’s an example article from the Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dr-mercola/msg-is-this-silent-killer_b_491502.html There’s many articles on the web regarding it. Hope this helps. Candice at WryGrass

    Reply

  7. Perhaps the often high levels of monosodium glutamate cause problems? It took one of my daughters and me a while to adjust to oyster sauce and other condiments when we first moved to Singapore. Nothing serious – digestive issues and general unease…

    Reply

  8. High levels of salt & monosodium glutamate may well have made you feel ill.

    Reply

  9. Posted by dawnhosking on September 20, 2013 at 10:17 am

    I’m not sure about that. I do enjoy chinese but note that I can never eat much of it before my gastric system says ‘enough’. Spice dishes help out with my pain though but once again I can’t eat much.

    Reply

I welcome any and all comment, words are the beginning of conversation.

