Nothing doing, Wu Wei.

Wu Wei is active inactivity  (not just a theme on the wordpress site)

wuwei

For me it is the action of “relinquishing self expectation” (thanks Sue) or the practice of doing nothing. It’s also taking (present tense as it’s a learning curve) a long time to accept.

Soooo, what’s wrong with reading a book during the day? Nothing right? you probably do it yourself.

Well actually I mean all day.every day, sometimes interspersed with TV, radio or sleep!

Great you say, bring it on.

However, I’ve been doing this since I was diagnosed with M.E. -4 years now – but not with any commitment to myself or the real Taoist principle , just because that’s what the illness does to me. Most of the time I do want to go out, do stuff and have a life!(Or rather my life back)

A virus for 3 weeks over the holidays, follow by a heavy cold at present, meant I not only couldn’t do anything but didn’t give myself a hard time for it.

So back to my reading then. Care to join me?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Now this is something I find very difficult to do. But occasionally I manage to choose to be actively inactive and give myself permission just to be without achieving much. Wishing you acceptance in your predicament x

    Reply

I welcome any and all comment, words are the beginning of conversation.

